It’s hip to be square

Coffee cup at MadFish, St. Petersburg Beach, Fla. photo by Tom Burton

The Hisptamatic app for camera phones as become such a trendy cell-phone photography app it has inspired a gallery show. Mashable reports that a UK gallery is staging an exhibit. What weirds me out is that of the seven photos previewed in the blog, three resemble photos I’ve made with the Hipstamatic app on my iPhone.

The coffee cup, the palm trees, and the b/w portrait of a pretty women all have some similar approaches (compare here). So I don’t know whether to think that photos I make with my phone could be gallery worthy in the UK or that I am no more clever than a bunch of other folks?

Palm trees at Megan's Bay in St. Thomas. photo by Tom Burton

Susan, Caribbean cruise. photo by Tom Burton

